Zach Wilson - MERGED (All Zach Threads will be merged here)

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by WoodyHarrelson, Dec 22, 2022.

1. ColoradoContrails

ColoradoContrails Well-Known Member

Have you ever fallen up the stairs? It happens when you're in a hurry and running up the stairs and trip and your momentum carries upwards. This is how I would describe what it's like for someone with ADD/ADHD: their mind starts processing at a high rate, and as long as they can implement those thoughts everything works fine, but when they "stumble" - in Zach's situation, maybe because he doubts himself on a given play as an example - the mind "trips over itself" and the mental processing breaks down. This in turn can lead to more self doubt and more "stumbling".

Again, I'm not a doctor or psychiatrist, nor am I privy to any discussions with Zach around this possible issue, but it really makes a lot of sense to me in light of what I saw happen to him.

BrooklynJetsFan and SOJAZ like this.
  2. BrowningNagle

BrowningNagle Well-Known Member

He’s on the medicine, has been for years and has a medical exemption for it as it’s “performance enhancing” for others

I would think that means he’s past the stage you describe, since we are talking years here, he would likely be able to manage it. If not that was a glaring scouting error. You wouldn’t draft a guy no. 2 overall with a busted knee, you shouldn’t do it if he has a busted attention disorder

Br4d, SOJAZ and Ralebird like this.
  3. ColoradoContrails

Again, I'm not an expert - and you certainly aren't either - I would welcome someone who is to weigh in on this. There must be someone on this forum who is more informed about ADD/ADHD and how it's treated.