Thoughts on my draft strategy?

Discussion in 'Fantasy Football' started by Fiftynine, Sep 9, 2010.

1. Fiftynine

Fiftynine Well-Known Member

Drafted last night. I'm a new coach in a league of mostly Gnts and Patsies fans. 10 teams, PPR. Aside from PPR pretty standard scoring except QB gets 4 pts for TD, 1 pt for completion, -1 for incompletion. Small money and I joined to help the commish fill an empty spot.

With that in mind, I figured I could be a bit more experimental than I would in my big money league (12 team, no ppr, standard scoring.)

I had the #6 overall pick. All of the stud RBs had gone. Turner and SJax were available. I'm not keen on either, but more so on SJax since he racks up yardage and 4 td's last year was an abarration. Both were ranked below any WRs and well below the top remaining player on my board.

So I took Aaron Rodgers in the 1st, 6th overall. I've never taken a quarterback that high. I figured the guy after me would take Turner or SJax then the guy after him would take the other. I was 1/2 right: the guy after me took Turner, then no one touched SJax so he fell back to the Turner guy.

In hindsight I think I should've taken one of those guys, if anything to break up that potentially monster RB core. Here's my team:

QB -Aaron Rodgers
    WR -DeSean Jackson
    WR -Miles Austin
    WR -Pierre Garcon
    RB -LeSean McCoy
    RB -Arian Foster
    w/r -CJ Spiller
    TE -Chris Cooley
    K -Bironas
    DEF -CIN
    BN -Forsett
    BN -Aromashodu
    BN -Jacoby Jones
    BN -Britt
    BN -Massaquoi
    BN -Neon Leon (last player I drafted)

2. Jetfanmack

Jetfanmack haz chilens?

With three receivers starting, I would have gone with Andre Johnson. Consistent beast every year, gets a ton of receptions and a ton of TDs. Then I would have hoped Rodgers, Brees, or Manning fell to me in round 2 or maybe gone with an RB.