Rule regarding Jets Raiders game

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by jetglass, Dec 31, 2006.

  1. jetglass

    jetglass New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct me if I am wrong but didn't the spot of the ball on the Raiders 4th and inches not matter? I am pretty sure you can NEVER advance a fumble on 4th down.
     
  2. genom

    genom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    0
    good point, i believe that is the correct ruling.
     
  3. JetsIn2004

    JetsIn2004 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the same person who FUMBLED it gets it, he CAN advance it. Only if another player for the fumbling team recovers is the ball placed back where it was fumbled.
     
  4. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    No, the rule ironically enough is the Dave Casper rule. (an Ex-Raider)

    If a player fumbles the ball on 4th down only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it.


    edit: 2k4 beat me 2 it... :wink:
     
  5. jetglass

    jetglass New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    True. If a different player recovers a fumble on 1st through 3rd downs they can advance the fumble if it is outside 2 minutes of either half. Within 2 minutes of a half, you can only advance a fumble with the same guy recovering it. None of this applies on 4th down. I thought the rule on 4th down was you can never advance it no matter who gets it. Think about it, if you were stopped short you would just throw the ball forward and hope you can recover it yourself.
     

Share This Page