Mock Offseason - A Slightly Different Take

Discussion in 'Draft' started by JetFanInPA, Feb 2, 2013.

1. JetFanInPA

JetFanInPA Well-Known Member

This is my first attempt at a mock offseason and I thought I’d go a slightly different route with it. I always enjoy reading others’ takes on the offseason and thought I’d provide my own. These things are addictive! I took the cap into account and explain each step along the way and also provide the draft choices leading up to the Jets’ first.

CURRENT CAP SPACE: -23M

JETS FREE AGENTS
    - RB Shonn Greene - WALK (~5th round 2014 compensation)
    He’s been a solid player, but will likely seek at least 3-4M per year, which the Jets cannot afford and he is likely not worth

- FB Lex Hilliard – WALK
    If the team still needs an option, he can be resigned, but an upgrade could be found. They can also utilize 2-TE sets instead. PFF graded Hilliard out quite poorly in 2012

- WR Braylon Edwards – RESIGN 1yr/850K
    He won’t draw much interest on the market and seems to have his greatest production in NY. I’d welcome him back as a reserve for this price.

- WR Chaz Schilens – WALK
    He wasn’t a big factor and would be an adequate reserve, but they choose Braylon over Schilens.

- TE Dustin Keller – WALK (~4th round 2014 compensation)
    He’s been good for the Jets; not great. Another case of the player not being worth what he’ll be seeking and the Jets not having the money. Jets got decent production from Cumberland and will seek another option in the draft.

- TE Jeff Cumberland (RFA) – RESIGN/TENDER 2yr/1.9M (900K in 2013)
    He played pretty well in 2012 and is worth this price. We resign him instead of tendering him to save some money

- OT Austin Howard (RFA) – RESIGN/TENDER 1yr/1.26M