Leberfeld : " Jets' roster moves don't add up " ~ ~ ~

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by kelly, Sep 29, 2006.

1. kelly

kelly Banned

Dan Leberfeld
    Jets' roster moves don't add up
    Sep 28, 2006

Although the Jets are 2-1, their management obviously doesn't view them as a good team.How else can you explain why Gang Green cut three players this week and signed three more off the street ? That is usually the modus operandi of a bottom-feeder, a team that is standing at 0-3, not 2-1.

Trivia question: Who started the last two games at left guard? The answer: Norm Katnik.But Katnik was dropped from the regular roster this week.Katnik was one of three players unceremoniously dumped.Katnik started the last two games for the injured Pete Kendall, who is almost ready to come back. Listen, I'm not putting Katnik in Canton, but if he was good enough to start the last two weeks, how come he can?t hang around as a backup ? Let's not forget that Katnik is a center by trade, and was thrown in at left guard. Granted, he didn't play great against New England, but not many Jets offensive linemen did. He was lined up over perennial Pro Bowler Richard Seymour. A center, moved to guard, facing perhaps the best 3-4 defensive end in football. How did the Jets? brass expect that to turn out ?Obviously, Katnik played better against Buffalo because the team gave up only one sack, and that was a coverage sack.Now he's out in favor of Wade Smith, who has never started a game at guard in the NFL. The same Smith who the Dolphins waived because Nick Saban didn't think he was big and stout enough.

Katnik deserved better.