Journeyman Quarterback Salary

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by Ralebird, Jan 17, 2017.

1. Ralebird

Ralebird Well-Known Member

There's a lot of opinion flying around Jetland about who, how and when for filling out the QB position on the Jets but the odds are two of the three spots are going to be taken by Petty and Hackenberg and a guy with some experience will come in to take the third spot. Chances are this guy is now a backup or his time as a starter elsewhere has expired - kind of like that Fitzpatrick guy.

Lots of names have been thrown around here and sometimes even offers of how much to pay. But barring some blockbuster deal where a great guy in his prime comes to town what will the guy be worth? Some guys want a placekeeper starter for a year or two, some want a semi-reliable clipboard carrier. There was a lot of talk last year that the Jets overpaid for what they got - hindsight is easy.

How much would you pay this guy? Forget about whether he gets here by trade or free agency and how much that might cost and no names please. I'm also interested to see if we can do this without any explanations about desires for Petty or Hackenberg or somebody else - we have threads going on already about those things. Just tell us how much you'd pay for a placekeeper or a clipboard guy for one year.

Like this:

Placekeeper: 15M

Clipboard Holder: 8M

2. Br4d

Br4d 2018 Weeb Ewbank Award

Why would you pay a veteran placekeeper $15M for a year of play? That's 10% of the cap and the guy is definitely not 10% of the value you are putting on the field, even at QB. The placekeepers who started last year were Ryan Fitzpatrick ($12M/overpaid by the Jets), Josh McCown ($5M/appropriately paid by the Browns as this is also a high end backups salary) and Case Keenum ($3.6M/placeholder for Goff by the Rams).

Veteran backups make $3-5M a year, assuming that's what their projection is. There were no backup QB's in the NFL making more than $5M last year.