Another dumb idea of mine

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by pclfan, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. pclfan

    pclfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5,223
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    My favorite Jets play all season was on Sunday when Geno was trying to cross the goal line and Bilal knocked him over. He blasted Geno and it was kind of cool. Of course there are rules against hitting Qbs esp hign. Now for the dumb question. Could Bilal get a penalty for hitting his own Qb high. You see it a lot when a teammate pushes (usually) an RB or Qb forward to get more yardage. But can you be penalized for an illegal hit on your own player. :rolleyes:
     
  2. Pluvrr

    Pluvrr Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, I don't think you can get penalized for that. It is to protect the QB against serious injury intentionally inflicted by opposing teams. There's certainly no intent for your own team to inflict injury on your own QB.
     
  3. Jetaho

    Jetaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,134
    Likes Received:
    2,287
    If it gets called, it gets called on us.
     
  4. joe

    joe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8,993
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    No. Gronk often hits Brady illegally and doesn't get called for it.

    Matter of fact Brady calls for it.
     
  5. NotSatoshiNakamoto

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    16,349
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    Agreed, very dumb.
     
  6. The Dark Knight

    The Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    27,061
    Likes Received:
    14,282
    What the hell is this crap? Haha.
     
  7. pclfan

    pclfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5,223
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Maybe the wording of the rule says it's a penalty if you hit the opposing player but not 100% sure of that. Maybe they put it into the rule book like that thinking some idiot somewhere would think of that situation. I never said I was a brain surgeon.
     
  8. Dierking

    Dierking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    16,332
    Likes Received:
    15,288
    He won't get flagged for a penalty, but he might put his QB on IR trucking him like that. Hit the defender making the tackle you big dummy.
     
  9. LongIslandBlitz

    LongIslandBlitz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    13,325
    Likes Received:
    4,083
    Wow this is a stupid question, I was gonna say " don't be to hard on yourself" but the question doesn't warrant that
     
  10. New England Patriots

    New England Patriots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    120
  11. CaneJet

    CaneJet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    26
    I would think the rules assume that players won't be trying to injure their own teammates.

    Although it's funny to reflect on. They could have called Brandon Moore for "illegal use of the butt" last Thanksgiving.
     
  12. GeshJet

    GeshJet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    82
    However I believe it's illegal to assist someone across the goalline by pushing him. Never called. I'll look through the rules for a citation.
     
  13. Leicester Jet

    Leicester Jet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    865
    "Binding on" to a player and driving him forwards is commonplace in rugby union. It would be interesting to see if this is a tactic that we could apply next season.
     
  14. GeshJet

    GeshJet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    82
    Just looked it up. A.R. 12.2 says it's legal to push a teammate over the goalline. It is illegal to pull a teammate forward. The rule may be different in college. We recall a pushing teammate forward into the endzone penalty called on Reggie Bush pushing Matt Leinert into the endzone in a USC game.
     
  15. jixxjr

    jixxjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    223
    I always thought the rule was that you couldn't do that in any situation. You can block a player making the tackle, but you cannot push your ball carrier forward.
     
  16. MikeSLTJ23

    MikeSLTJ23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    272
    Unless this happened again, that was actually a no-call in the USC game. They won the game against ND on that play.

    Still the greatest game I've ever been to even if my team was on the losing end. Crazy finish. We all thought ND had won when Leinart got crushed in bounds trying to make it to the end zone, but a defensive helmet on the ball sent it flying out of bounds. Of course, this stops the clock (I don't think any rule has changed on that, but I don't think an offense should benefit with a stoppage of clock for fumbling. Obviously it was the right call, but I think that's a misstep in the rule book.) So they got all the students off the field, put 7 seconds back on the clock, and then we have the infamous Bush Push, where Leinart was stopped short, and Reggie Bush, of all people, was able to push Leinart into the end zone for the winning TD.
     
  17. endydee

    endydee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    98
    I thought the same thing when the play happened, but after looking at the replay it appeared as if Powell, actually hit the defender to get him off of Geno, as well as assist Geno forward.
     
    #17 endydee, Jan 1, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  18. Footballgod214

    Footballgod214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    15,177
    Likes Received:
    6,051
    It's not really a stupid question at all. Player A struck Quarterback B in the head/neck area. But if there was any way humanly possible the refs could have called a penalty on the Jets you would have seen 5 yellow flags come out.

    I've seen plays where a QB will throw a pass that bounces off the back of his lineman's helmet and the lineman will get flagged for being an ineligible receiver so yes, there are quirky calls.
     
  19. Chrisiue

    Chrisiue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    317
    In the ice bowl Dallas vs.Green Bay when Bart Starr scored the touchdown sneaking the ball behind jerry Kramer through Jethro Pugh the running back behind Starr was very worried that he might be called for a penalty due to the fact that he had both of his hands on Bart Starr's back ,as he was going through the goal line.
    I don't know if the rules have been rewritten or if they are in place to this day.
     

Share This Page