The 2nd and Goal play at the End

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by al_toon_88, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. MadBacker Prime

    MadBacker Prime THE Dead Rabbit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    The pocket moved, I'm not going on and on with this.

    Whatever, your right, I don't care the game is over and we lost.

    I just want to go to the game next week and forget this crap happened.
     
  2. xxDebo9

    xxDebo9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    the pocket can't move...
     
  3. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not trying to instigate here so bear with me.
    the rule is beyond the tackles. meaning simply when the linemen are down, draw an imaginary line back from the tackles. that's the "box". if outside that box its not grounding. regardless of where the pocket is. its based off of the down lineman prior to the snap. with this explanation, i implore you to rewatch and tell me it was grounding.
     
  4. MadBacker Prime

    MadBacker Prime THE Dead Rabbit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not the only one who said it was, why am I being quoted here, lol.


    About the pocket moving, I was f'n joking, jesus.


    I thought he was in, I guess I'm wrong. I'M SORRY
     
  5. TheCoolerGlennFoley

    TheCoolerGlennFoley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    32
    Doesn't matter if there is someone in the area if he's outside of the tackles. His pass could've been intended for Marc Anthony but if he's outside the tackles it's not grounding.
     
  6. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol.. all good, i may have quoted the wrong person. point still stands.
    either way. bills are gonna face a pissed of team ready to go.
     
  7. MadBacker Prime

    MadBacker Prime THE Dead Rabbit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    From a Phin fan-



    Please explain the rules to him too
     
  8. I Still Heart Chad

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why do we care about the call on Henne ? IMO the horrible call was the no call on ronnie brown , I was always under the impression the ball had to reach the line of scrimmage ?
     
  9. GBA

    GBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    126
    I thought he was inside the tackles too. Guess not?
     
  10. TheCoolerGlennFoley

    TheCoolerGlennFoley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    32
    "Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass

    1. Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.
    2. Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.
    3. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line)."


    Just so everyone knows at least how it's worded in the rule book.
     
  11. BadgerOnLSD

    BadgerOnLSD Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    There were a handful of bad calls last night but I think they broke even.
     
  12. Barry the Baptist

    Barry the Baptist Hello son, would you like a lolly?
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,751
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    I don't think he was outside the tackles... he was outside the hash marks but the tackles shifted on the design play. I don't know exactly if he just has to be outside the hash marks or outside the tackles. He was definitely inside his tackles. It didn't win or lose the game but if the rule is inside the tackles it should have bene called. As for Sanchez I think it was an attempt to avoid a sack which should have been the ruling anyway but Keller was within the vicinity. His play was either a sack or a no call. It was irrelevant as we scored anyway but I'm on board with the play where Brown was down and it should have been a 3rd and long and we failed to challenge. That's on us for not questioning that play. The officials blew that call but we should have thrown the red hanky.
     
  13. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    The Pocket is defined by being "OUTSIDE THE TACKLES"
    He was NOT outside the tackles (i'll rewatch soon)

    Also, Sanchez had a receiver in the Vicinity where as Henne's throw wasn't even Close to a receiver OR THE LOS!!!

    Now for me, I thought Snchez was more "in the grasp" and that should have been called but not IG.

    We know the rules but don't give me this BS. I have the game recorded and will rewatch this play soon.
     
  14. BadgerOnLSD

    BadgerOnLSD Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    The vicinity according to who? JaMarcus Russell?

    (kidding, I agree.)
     
  15. TheCoolerGlennFoley

    TheCoolerGlennFoley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    32
    I don't have the game taped or anything so I'll wait until someone posts a video or a picture. I do know that it's from where the tackles line up before the ball is snapped so even if the line shifts one way or the other he could be outside the "tackle box" while still behind the line.
     
  16. Acad23

    Acad23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27,031
    Likes Received:
    21,392
    I blew a gasket when this wasn't called...you could see it even before they re-played it in slo-mo. The side ref was standing right there. And there was plenty of time to trow the red hanky. The next play Ricky Williams barely got the six yrds. & picked up a 1st down.


    I'll make the case that this call wasn't as bad as the replay made it look. ESPN re-played the very end of the the play, in super slo-mo. I believe the interference happened a bit earlier than they showed. I can't go back and double check...I erased the game from my TIVO in disgust.

    Overall though, I have a sneaky suspicion that as much as we were unable to handle the Wildcat formation, the refs are confused by it by it as well.
     
  17. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    :smile: Oh, it was a few Yards away...
    I'll have it up in a few days, I rewatch all the games win or lose.

    I have a list of things to look @ already.
     
  18. plasticsloth

    plasticsloth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    126
    when i first saw it i was pissed at the lack of call. But it was the right call. He was outside of the pocket and passed it past the line of scrimmage. The call on Sanchez was awful though. there was a receiver in the area and he was getting tackled while throwing. But the henne no call was legit
     
  19. Hemi

    Hemi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11,659
    Likes Received:
    468
    That was not a penalty in my eyes.
     

Share This Page