Taunting play at end of half

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by RunLeonRun, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. Chrebet86

    Chrebet86 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea it was a good little discussion but its gotten off track now i think.

    i think royal tee is right that the " is not in the continuing action immediately after the end of a down" part is the gray area and could go either way or whatever.
    maybe hercules was just tossin them a bone because he felt bad for them after watching us whoop em.

    now if this was new england then let the conspiracy theories fly but it was just the texans, and we still won decisively.
     
  2. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    has nuthin to do w/ superior knowledge and I wasn't shoutin atcha Just bolding out the part that coincided w/ the rule apologies if you though I was. :wink:

    btw, it WAS NOT enforced on the 3rdQ KO. IMO it should have been but based on the ruling that I previously bolded I think they got the call right.

    based on the rule, it only applies if it was NOT in the continuing action immediately after the end of a down.

    BUT

    the play WAS in the continuing action immediately after the end of a down.

     
  3. StreetFighterJet

    StreetFighterJet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically after the half ends Jenkins can take T. Brady, pile drive him into the turf without penalty? NICE!!!
     
  4. StreetFighterJet

    StreetFighterJet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Footballgod214

    Footballgod214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    15,306
    Likes Received:
    6,149
    funny thing is if mangini were still our coach, he'd have been all over this. remember the 'obsure rule' where washington caught the kickoff with one foot out of bounds? he said mangini schooled him on it.

    mangini is anal but occsionally it pays off! i'm sure he was smiling when he saw it on ESPN.
     
  6. NDmick

    NDmick Revis Christ

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,432
    Likes Received:
    3
    they got the call right, get over it.
     
  7. Brien O'Ken

    Brien O'Ken Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought he said Westhoff coached him on that. I have a lot more faith that Westhoff knows the obscure rules than Mangini does.
     
  8. HardHitta

    HardHitta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,174
    Likes Received:
    234
    We didn't decline shit, It could of been a nice 3 point FG for feely. Hocholi just fucked it up.
     
  9. DMSMaven

    DMSMaven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not in the way they interpret it .... It is a Penalty On The Defense .... Not A Defensive Penalty .... Good Logic by the NFL
     
  10. Don

    Don 2008 TGG Rich Kotite "Least Knowledgeable" Award W

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    23,098
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    The half was over when the penalty occurred, that is why there was no extension. The penalty didn't happen during the play, it happened AFTER the play when the half was already over. I don't know how else to say it.
     
  11. WhiteShoeWillis

    WhiteShoeWillis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    19,492
    Likes Received:
    41
    All over what? Hoculli specifically said that by rule the penalty would not extend the half. if anyone fucked up it was him.
     
  12. Jtuds

    Jtuds Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was not declined. You could see Rex Ryan yelling "Field Goal, Field Goal"...Hochuli have some stuid explanation as to why, by rule, this particular penalty did not allow another play. I actually think he said it was because the penalty occurred after, not during, the play. However, according to this rule, he seems to have been wrong.

    Hochs also missed the horsecollar on Westerman (or was it Harris)....the rule as I have always seen it enforces was that any tackle with the hand inside the shoulderpad neckline from the middle of one shoulder, across the back, to the middle of the other shoulder, is a horsecollar tackle.
     
    #32 Jtuds, Sep 17, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  13. Don

    Don 2008 TGG Rich Kotite "Least Knowledgeable" Award W

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    23,098
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    He wasn't wrong. The half was over when the penalty occured. The rule clearly states that the half can't end on a defensive penalty. It didn't.
     
  14. Jtuds

    Jtuds Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    So in other words, if a play is run with 0:01 on the clock and the offense throws a hail mary that takes 7 seconds, and the ball is knocked down but there is a PI call on the play, the half will end without a free play because the PI occurred after the clock was at 0:00?
     
  15. Don

    Don 2008 TGG Rich Kotite "Least Knowledgeable" Award W

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    23,098
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    No, that would cause another play because the penalty occurred DURING the play and not AFTER the play. Let me put it this way. The instant the whistle blew the half was over because time had expired during the play. After the whistle the taunting occurred but it didn't matter because the half was already over earlier.
     
    #35 Don, Sep 17, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
  16. Jtuds

    Jtuds Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, so then Hochuli's explanation was correct. Let me re-read the rule in the first post then, because I either misinterpreted it, or things aren't lining up.
     
  17. Jtuds

    Jtuds Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    “If there is a defensive personal foul following the end of the second or fourth periods that occurs in the action immediately after the end of a down, the offensive team may choose to extend the period for an untimed down.”


    Either there's more to the rule or it needs to be more specific, in my opinion.
     
  18. Chrisp22

    Chrisp22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    The definition of the rule and after seeing how it was enforced (or how it is not enforced at the end of a half) leads me to believe there is a loophole that needs to be closed. In my opinion the penalty in question should have been enforced on the opening kickoff of the third quarter.

    But since it is not, maybe Bart Scott can take a wonderful penalty at the end of the half and knock Brady senseless and technically not be penalized. A free shot so to speak.
     
  19. StreetFighterJet

    StreetFighterJet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I don't get the confusion, the scenario is pretty obvious.

    Half is extended if it is a defensive penalty, like a holding call or a PI but NOT a personal foul like what happened on Sunday.

    So NOT extending the half was the CORRECT call.

    However, the Pats should have been penalized on the kick off and I don't think they were, so if there was a mistake that is where it was.
     
  20. abyzmul

    abyzmul R.J. MacReady, 21018 Funniest Member Award Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    53,353
    Likes Received:
    25,581
    The PI flag would be thrown before the final whistle of the half is blown. The personal conduct flag was thrown after the final whistle was blown. The half was over at that point.
     

Share This Page