Correct me if I am wrong but didn't the spot of the ball on the Raiders 4th and inches not matter? I am pretty sure you can NEVER advance a fumble on 4th down.
If the same person who FUMBLED it gets it, he CAN advance it. Only if another player for the fumbling team recovers is the ball placed back where it was fumbled.
No, the rule ironically enough is the Dave Casper rule. (an Ex-Raider) If a player fumbles the ball on 4th down only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it. edit: 2k4 beat me 2 it... :wink:
True. If a different player recovers a fumble on 1st through 3rd downs they can advance the fumble if it is outside 2 minutes of either half. Within 2 minutes of a half, you can only advance a fumble with the same guy recovering it. None of this applies on 4th down. I thought the rule on 4th down was you can never advance it no matter who gets it. Think about it, if you were stopped short you would just throw the ball forward and hope you can recover it yourself.