Gregg Easterbrook on the Jets

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by Namath2Kolber, Dec 20, 2006.

1. Namath2Kolber

Namath2Kolber New Member

This is from Gregg Easterbrook's lastest Tuesday Morning Quarterback column:

Sominex Bids to Sponsor Upcoming Jets-Raiders Game: The Jets are quietly 8-6 and stand a decent chance at the playoffs in the first season of Eric "I Was a Teenaged Coach" Mangini. Why aren't they generating excitement? I think the reason is their look. Jersey/B explicably continues to play in 1847 throwback uniforms plus black shoes -- the antiquated unis and black shoes make the Jets appear to be the slowest-looking team in the NFL. The Jets' appearance projects monotony; maybe this is what Mangini wants. Their game plan projects monotony -- underneath, underneath, underneath. Maybe that's what Mangini wants, too. How could an opponent get psyched up for playing the Jets? Maybe that's what Mangini wants.

2. TheBlairThomasFumble

TheBlairThomasFumble Active Member

What's the JerseyB?

TBTF

3. Namath2Kolber

Namath2Kolber New Member

Easterbrook calls the Giants Jersey/A and the Jets Jersey/B. He rips on the teams for being from New York but playing in Jersey. But he's objective - doesn't root for any specific team in his columns and he's very well informed.

4. 3rdAnd15Draw

3rdAnd15Draw Well-Known Member

I get douche chills every time I read something this guy writes. He's trying so hard to be Bill Simmons but he's such an out of touch nerd that he just falls flat on his face.

5. Namath2Kolber

Namath2Kolber New Member

He's nothing like Bill Simmons. Simmons comedy comes from pop culture references. Easterbrook is fully aware that he's a nerd and his jokes are all very nerdy too. But he does more of a Ron Jaworski style, in-depth analysis of football instead of just glossing over each team like Simmons does.

6. Dierking

Dierking Well-Known Member