Coronavirus Quarantine a/k/a What I Did on My Quarantine Vacation Thread

Discussion in 'BS Forum' started by jetophile, Apr 6, 2020.

1. jetophile

jetophile Bruce Coslet's Daughter

So I'm an artist and I draw naked people to stay sharp. My other art is figurative in nature but it's a clear departure. I use ink when I draw naked people because I can't erase and it forces me to make decisions. There's nothing wrong with erasing, mind you, and you can use erasing as a tool, it's just not what I prefer. If you have an aversion to naked people, cover your eyes. If you like to look at naked people and appreciate drawing the human figure as an art form that never gets old, here are some naked people. Each is 2' x 3' on paper, Sumi brush and Sumi ink, 5 minute poses. So what you do is you pick a point of reference and center yourself and stare so intently it's unnerving. Not to me, to the person who's posing. Well, it can be.

Being a figure model is extremely hard and takes a lot of core strength and skill, especially if they're standing poses. That bottom one, she moved, because it becomes hard to hold VERY fast. People get army weary and such very quickly. That's why longer poses are almost always lying down or sitting, or the model take a bunch of breaks with only a few minutes of the actual pose. You ALWAYS mark their feet on the stand or the floor with chalk first once it's decided so you can get them to where they were. It's often very close, but sometimes not very close at all. :/

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]