Rex Ryan: I’m a lot better coach than I’m given credit for

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by CJLang, Jun 14, 2013.

1. Tony Dungy & Jimmy Johnson are 2 other guys who had some lousy teams/units.

I actually agree w/ you about Rex's DC-esque comments. That said..we've seen this franchise have success under Rex when the offensive personnel is up to par.

This team's biggest weakness over the last decade or so has been lack of identity. Rex has given this team one.Strong unpredictable defense. Maybe not everyone likes that but its a method that's worked in Pittsburgh,Baltimore,Chicago & Tampa. In almost every single 1 of those circumstances..the roster/infrastructure took time to build.

We're at a low point w/ our offense. But there's a new FO in place that has already fixed alot of the issues. Team speed is drastically better over recent years,same w/ OL depth. There's also no doubt Marty can be a long term fixture at OC. This team just needs alittle time to get acclimated w/ the offensive system & to upgrade some of the offensive skill.

2. ajetsfan4ever

ajetsfan4ever Active Member

I agree.

Unless we're a terrible 6-10 team Rex will be back in 2014.

3. Acad23

Acad23 Well-Known Member

Wow.

Somebody's cranky.

#83 Acad23, Jun 16, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2013
  4. NotSatoshiNakamoto

Jimmy Johnson is another poor example.

Dungy though, is a very good one ... unfortunately it makes my point. He brought in a new culture and a top defense - managed to win some playoff games but could never get anything out of the offense. Then he was fired in favor of an offensive guy who then took his ready to win defense, added an offense and immediately won a superbowl.

If the end result is Rex getting fired and an offensive guy coming in and winning a championship, fine, that's great. I'd prefer Rex get the offense together and stick around though. Maybe Morningwood is the guy - I hope so.