Taunting play at end of half

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by RunLeonRun, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. RunLeonRun

    RunLeonRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not that it means anything now but I found this on thejetsblog.com

    So Ed Hochuli gets another call messed up! I knew it seemed very odd that the Jets didn't get a free play after that. There is no way they would have declined to attempt a FG that would have been about a 37 yards.
     
  2. IATA

    IATA Trolls

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    HOCHULI DOES NOT MAKE MISTAKES.

    Ya, he sucks.
     
  3. 624

    624 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damnit Captain Triceps, you screwed us again.
     
  4. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    from readings across the internets
    the call was a personal foul, not a defensive penalty. Additionally, the time if hte foul occurred after the clock reached 0s. since it wasn't a defensive penalty that rule isn't applied.
     
  5. MParty7441

    MParty7441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    73
    I at least thought the penalty would go into the 3rd Q and theyd have to kickoff from the 15.
     
  6. RunLeonRun

    RunLeonRun Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    am I the only one who is having trouble comprehending this?
     
  7. GBA

    GBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    126
    It was a personal foul penalty called on the defense..
     
  8. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'll try again.
    the rule states a defensive penalty would extend the period. it wasn't a defensive penalty. it was a personal foul.
     
  9. IATA

    IATA Trolls

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. It's really very clear.

    Hochizzle did not make a mistakizzle dizzle shizzle.
     
  10. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not saying i've got the answer... i'm jsut saying this is what has been explained on other sites i've read.
     
  11. Chrebet86

    Chrebet86 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    a personal foul called on the defense though, making it a penalty on the defense...no?
     
  12. Section 227. Row 5

    Section 227. Row 5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,562
    Likes Received:
    6
    I guess this means that he's still in favor and that he once again gets to order zebra shirts a size smaller than what he's even currently wearing?
     
  13. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    a- i thought it was on the player (i've been wrong on many occasions, it wouldn't surprise me if this was one of them)
    b- apparently the foul occurring after the clock reached 0 had somethign to do with it too (according to other jets blogs around the internet)
     
  14. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336

    It WAS NOT A PERSONAL FOUL, IT WAS AN UNSPORTSMANLIKE CONDUCT (Taunting) Which does NOT extend the period...
    He then went and Explained it to REX.

    I have the game recorded and have watched it several times already.

    Now, Look up the rule for that.


    Also, This is why blogging is full of shit.
     
  15. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    from here:
    http://nfl.fanhouse.com/2009/09/16/zebra-report-dont-trust-announcers/

    why it wasn't enforced, or if it was i must've missed.
    i that reputable? don't know, just forwarding what i'm reading.
     
  16. Chrebet86

    Chrebet86 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    a-they cant penalize an individual player with anything other than a fine or something
    b-then i believe it would have been assesed after the half

    im not ridin ya, but i think that hercules just messed up.
     
  17. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    It WAS "IN THE CONTINUING ACTION AFTER THE END OF THE DOWN"


    IMO- That's BS.
    A penalty needs to be enforced but I believe that's the stickler right there.
     
    #17 Royal Tee, Sep 16, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  18. GBA

    GBA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    126
    I don't think it makes a difference whether it was a personal foul or unsportsmanlike conduct. Shouldn't the result be the same? I think it clearly happened immediately after the end of the down, which means it applies.

    Not very specific, but this if from the nfl website:
    "On a foul by defense on last play of half or game, the down is replayed if penalty is accepted. "

    I assume that means all defensive fouls.
     
    #18 GBA, Sep 16, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  19. Royal Tee

    Royal Tee Girls juss wanna have fun
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    4,336
    See my post right above yours...I don't agree with the call but it was correct by that definition.
     
  20. theBidet

    theBidet Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    um OK!... i'm just posting things i've read, I CAN POST IN CAPS TOO! I SEE WE'RE COOL!

    in all seriousness, i'm not familiar with the ruling, nor have i intended to come off as such. its a common question apparently, as there were a number of hits when i googled it. i saw the play, i saw his call and it was, on television anyway, sort of cut and dry. no explanation. so its conjecture based on random snippets i've read. its my hope that someone with superior knowledge, such as yourself, would clarify.

    did anyone notice if it was enforced on the kickoff, or for that matter, if it should've been?
     

Share This Page