Rex Ryan, a Jets fan?

Discussion in 'New York Jets' started by MexJetinBcn, Jan 15, 2009.

1. MexJetinBcn

MexJetinBcn New Member

I know he has diplomatically said that he "has a special feeling for the franchise", but he has to be a Jets fan, just like all of us, probably suffering throughout the 80s and 90s, getting his hopes high every time and then breaking his heart again and again. Hell, he probably celebrated every sack of the "sack exchange"

He was born in 1962, so he was six when we won the SB. Eactly the time in which you make allegiances. When his father left the Jets he was 13, too late to change teams.

That's probably why he blew everyone off in the interviews, if I was a coach I'd take the Jets job in a minute, and I'd do everything to get it, even if they paid me less. It's a matter of heart not a matter of brains or wallet.

I wasn't sure who I wanted for HC, but now I'm rooting for ryan, not just because I think he's got the knowledge but also because I know he will care for the team, and every loss won't just be a loss as a coach but also one as a fan. It was the same feeling I had for Vinny, sometimes he was crap (especially in the end) but I knew losing hurt him exactly as it hurt me.

2. NDmick

NDmick Revis Christ

and vinny was the last QB to get this team close to a SB... maybe Rex can do the same thing.... i like this idea of him being a Jets fan. It seems fitting. It was his father's only ring until 85 with the bears, so little rex probably did love the Jets growing up because it was dad's 1st NFL success.

Come home, coach.

3. ukjetsfan

ukjetsfan Well-Known Member

I like your thinking. It would be great if Ryan actually was a Jets fan!

4. Royce Parker

Royce Parker Well-Known Member