Need advice on apartments in NYC

Discussion in 'BS Forum' started by Dirty6Sanchez, May 31, 2013.

1. Dirty6Sanchez

Dirty6Sanchez Well-Known Member

Hey guys, I'm going to start the hectic search for a new apartment in the NYC area and I was looking for some advice.

I'm moving out of the East Village because I'm tired of living in a six story walk-up tenement building and being financially reamed to do so.

I'm a college student so having access to places with decent nightlife and a younger crowd is somewhat important.

So far the best bang for you buck places we've found are the financial district, parts of Brooklyn (Williamsburg, Fort Greene, Prospect Heights, Green Point), Mid-Town East, Murray Hill, Kips Bay, Roosavelt Island, Turtle Bay and Astoria.

Anybody have strong feelings one way or the other for any of these places?

Thanks for any info.

2. matt robinson 17

matt robinson 17 Well-Known Member

Dirty the new Garden has nice suites in the press box

3. Poeman

Poeman Well-Known Member

Are you going to live alone or with roomates?

Astoria in queens is pretty good, alot of night life there and if you want you can take a train to downtown to Lower East Side.

Brooklyn is pretty good too, that area where the Barclays is now is def a hot spot

Best options is seeing if you can get something deep into the avenues, like Kips Bay area, Hells Kitchen or Chelsea. Or see if you can get a room in a apt building with a elevator in East Village.

4. Barry the Baptist

Barry the Baptist Hello son, would you like a lolly?

Makes me wish I lived in New York City. I lived in North Jersey for two years and loved it. Couldn't imagine if I lived in the city....

5. jilozzo

jilozzo Well-Known Member

Bayridge and park slope work for me in Brooklyn. Lived in bay ridge while in school back in the day. Tail all over the place.

6. statjeff22

statjeff22 2008 Green Guy "Most Knowledgeable" Award Winner